Perepiolkin team wins super league trophy

Fred Perepiolkin and his curling team of Glen Becenko, Nolan Nykolaishen and Connor Bodnaryk played very well in Kamsack January 11, first defeating Duck Mountain Super League (DMSL) defending champion Rick Kinaschuk of Benito in a semi-final match, and then grinding down Bob Kolodziejski ‘s Canora crew in the 2018-2019 season finale.

The Perepiolkin team, sponsored by Nykolaishen Farms, qualified for the A-side by defeating Jeremy Hrycenko of Arran, sponsored by Rawhides Restaurant, in a tie-breaker game played January 9 in Kamsack.

article continues below

It was reported in a previous article, after six draws of DMSL round-robin play, six teams were tied for second place with three wins each. Perepiolkin and Hrycenko were unable to play in draw seven held in Norquay January 4, so the game was rescheduled.

Perepiolkin’s semi-final game against Rick Kinaschuk, sponsored by W.F. Schneider and Son, was an eight-end contest. Kinaschuk led early in the game, but Perepiolkin struck for four points in the fourth end and stayed in the lead.

Bob Kolodziejski, sponsored by Pioneer Hi-Bred Seeds and playing with third John Zbitniff, second Terry Wilson and lead Shaun Kolodziejski, reached the A-Side final by beating Ken Newell of Norquay, sponsored by Challoner Farm. 

To set the stage for the 9:30 pm championship game between Perepiolkin and Kolodziejski, DMSL chief executive officer Tom Jordens displayed the League trophy on an adjacent sheet of ice.

The teams were well matched. After stealing a series of single points, Perepiolkin was leading 7 to 4 after six ends. With time running out, Kolodziejski forced his opponent to attempt a difficult run-back take-out in the seventh end that jammed, giving Bob a chance to draw and tie the game 7 to 7 coming home.

Perepiolkin’s team made no mistakes in the final end, leaving Perepiolkin an open take out for the victory.

Meanwhile, in B-Side semi-final play, Craig Carnduff of Madge Lake, sponsored by Cottenie and Gardner Inc., knocked off Chris Leis, sponsored by Pattison Agriculture. Richard Jordens, also of Madge Lake and also sponsored by Pattison Agriculture, defeated Jeremy Hrycenko in eight ends.

The B-Side final was an erratic contest with both teams jumping into the lead and then losing ground. Skip Craig Carnduff, supported by third Dave Placatka, second Ed Guenther, and lead Jim Wright, came out on top after scoring four points in the sixth end and then stealing three more in the seventh.

The players who participated in the 2018-2019 Duck Mountain Super League would like to acknowledge the team sponsors, ice makers and food and beverage suppliers at curling rinks in Canora, Kamsack, Benito and Norquay.