Ken Newall rink wins Arran Mixed Open Bonspiel

The Ken Newall rink of Norquay topped the annual Arran Mixed Open Bonspiel held January 19 to 26.

Curling with Newall (skip) were: Evan Rostotski, third; Kevin Ebert, second, and Cory Krochak, lead,

article continues below

A total of 14 rinks out of a 24 rink limit participated in the bonspiel said Rick Nahnybida, an organizer of the Arran and District Rec Board annual event. “We had teams from Arran, Kamsack, Norquay, Swan River, White Beach and Benito.”

Placing second in the first event was the Kade Trofimenkoff rink of Kamsack.

The Lorne Mydynski (third) rink of Arran won the second event. He curled with Darcy Zielinski, skip; Michael Maga, second, and Brandon Woicichowski of Canora, lead. Placing second in the second event was Lionel Hanson of Swan River.

Topping the third event was Derreck Kruk (skip) of Arran. Curling with Kruk were: Mike Rudy of Kamsack, third; Joe Makohoniuk, second, and Braden VanKleek, lead. Gerald Peesker of Kamsack placed second in the third event.

Rick Kinaschuk (skip) of Benito took first in the fourth event, curling with Lenore Kinaschuk, third; Tom Lyons, second, and Pat Lyons, lead. The Larry Folk rink of Madge Lake took second in the fourth event.

“The Arran bonspiel has been held for approximately 66 years as an annual event,” said Nahnybida, president of the Rec Board.

“Over the years it has usually been a success in showcasing the fun sport of curling. We hold