Kamsack Minor Hockey holds banquet and awards night

The Kamsack Minor Hockey banquet and awards night was held at the Broda Sportsplex on April 4.

Mike Eliuk, president of the organization, acknowledged the parents “for all their hard work and dedication,” and members of the executive for all their hard work.

article continues below

Kevin Kitchen was head coach for the 23 IP (initiation program) players. Stating that they often divided the players into smaller groups, Kitchen thanked the assistant coaches Ryan Gareau, Jeff Smandych and Ethan Krawetz, and all the parent helpers. He also thanked Amanda Hunter, the team manager who “did a ton of work” during the season.

Saying there was a “huge improvement” in the players this year, every IP player was presented with a certificate and medal for most improved player, because each player had worked hard and followed the rule “always get better.”

Eliuk congratulated the peewee team, and thanked team manager Christie DeBruyen, and assistant coaches RJ Grieve, and Kent Hembling.

“We had a pretty good season. We started off strong, we went into a losing spell, and then we did something that we haven't done for more than four years in this organization, we entered a provincial B team. The players really picked up the slack, played hard and made it through the first round of playoffs into the second round. They did really well."

Brooke Taylor, who played goal was given the award of most improved player. The most dedicated player award went to Shiloh Blackwood- Eliuk. Matthew Keshane received the most sportsmanship award for the peewee team.

Jeremy Allard, head coach of the atom team, thanked team manager Michelle Hembling, and assistant coaches Ryan Gareau, Kent Hembling and Derek Shankowsky. “This group pushed hard, learned a lot and had a great year,” he said, indicating they had a 12-5-1 year (wins, losses and tie.)

In the atom awards, Chase Hembling received most dedicated, Jackson Gareau, most improved and Kealand Thomas, most sportsmanship.

Minor Hockey had two novice teams this year. Allard was head coach for the Novice 1 team, and thanked manager Shanley Allard, and assistant coaches Ethan Krawetz and Shaun Lawless. “This group had lots of fun this year,” he said.

Kaley Allard was presented with the most sportsmanlike award, Skyler Semeniuk-Halliday, most improved and Rhys Lawless, most dedicated in Novice 1.

Tyler Lorenzo held the position of head coach for the Novice 2 team, and thanked team manager Jared Ruf, and assistant coaches Deven Shabatoski, Gerard Kiefer and Kirk Badger. Speaking to his team, he said, “If you take what you learned this year and apply it, I promise you will do really well next year in atom division.”

Award winners for Novice 2 were: Luke Badger, most improved; Seth Symak, most dedicated, and Gage Kiefer, most sportsmanlike.

After the awards presentation, the group enjoyed a banquet catered by the Iron Grill in Kamsack and included hamburgers, hotdogs, chili, fries and more, including dessert bar.

The Kamsack Minor Hockey annual general meeting (AGM) was to be held April 8.