Nancy Brunt succeeds Rod Gardner as Kamsack mayor

            Nancy Brunt has been elected by acclamation as the mayor of Kamsack

Nominations for mayors, reeves and councillors of towns, villages and rural municipalities and for school board members across Saskatchewan closed at 4 p.m. on September 21.

article continues below

Where a candidate was not opposed, he or she was elected by acclamation to serve a term of four years. Where more than one candidate was nominated, polling will be held on October 26.

Most municipal jurisdictions in the Kamsack area will require balloting to complete the election.

At Kamsack, seven persons were nominated for the six seats on town council. Nominated were two incumbent councillors, Claire Bishop and Maria Nahnybida, and five others: Mark Foster, Karen Koreluik, Jason Pennell, Jared Ruf and Wayne Snyder.

Mayor Don Tower of Norquay is being opposed by Maggie Lukey, while seeking the five seats on council are nine nominees: the five incumbent councillors Rick Dahlin, Loretta Perrick, Ken Newell, Kevin Ebert and Jim Predinchuk, and Laura Dahl, Heather Martin, Ken Paluck and Garry Twerdoclib.

Mayor Sharon Nelson of Pelly was returned to office unopposed, while three persons were elected by acclamation to the four-person council: Trevor Auchstaetter, an incumbent, and John Llewellyn and Kevin Krotenko. A second nominating day will be held on September 29 to find a fourth councillor.

At Arran Mayor Rick Nahnybida and incumbent councillors Sheldon Dick and Del Hoffman were returned unopposed.

Mayor Loretta Erhardt of Togo is being opposed by Ebony Herman, while elected for the two councillors’ seats are Barry Herman and incumbents Doug Laviolette and Michael Ruf.

Mayor Barry Bogucky was returned to the Hyas village council unopposed, while elected to the three seats on council were Ernie Babinchuk (incumbent), Dwight Rubletz and Shannon Amon.

Reeve James Tomochko and the three odd-numbered councillors at the RM of Cote were all re-elected by acclamation. They are: Ralph Hilderman of Div. 1; Ken Kalmakoff, Div. 3, and Kim Pennell, Div. 5.

At the RM of Calder, Reeve Melvin Woloschuk is being opposed by Roy Derworiz, and while both incumbent councillors, Trevor Baumung of Div. 1 and Don Soloninko of Div. 3 were re-elected unopposed, in Div. 5, Tyson Becker and Randy Napady were nominated.

Glen Smith was elected reeve of the RM of Livingston, while re-elected to council seats were Mike Kalinowski of Div. 1 and Theodore Klimm, Div. 3.

Reeve Gilles Comeault of the RM of St. Philips is being opposed by Bernie Vogel, while both incumbent councillors, Larry Mosiuk of Div. 3 and Ron Seitz  of Div. 5 are being opposed by Shane Vidomski and Harry Wlaswich, respectively.

Reeve Harvy Malanowich of the RM of Sliding Hills is being opposed by Blake Cairns, while elected unopposed were: Ron Rozema the incumbent councillor of Div. 1; Murray Mudrey for Div. 3, and Janet Ostafie, the incumbent councillor for Div. 5.

At the RM of Keys, Reeve Vivian Morgan is being opposed by Leslie Hryhoriw. Incumbent councillor Garth Bates was re-elected unopposed for Div. 1 and Donald Kraynick was elected the councillor for Div. 3. Polling will be required in Div. 5 because incumbent Councillor Ken Lozinski is being opposed by Lorne Gazdewich.

Reeve Duane Hicks of the RM of Clayton is being opposed by Douglas Ferder. In Div. 1, Harold Ferstl and Trevor Altman were nominated, while in Div. 3, incumbent Wayne Barsby was re-elected unopposed. A second nominating day will be held October 5 to find a councillor for Div. 5.

Regarding the election for the 11 members of the board of the Good Spirit School Division, in sub-division 1, which includes the communities of Kamsack and Togo and where former board member Bryan Cottenie chose not to seek re-election, Janice Derwores and Jaime Johnson were nominated. The polling station is yet to be determined.

In sub-division 2, the area around Sturgis and Preeceville, Christopher Balyski was elected by acclamation, as was Shannon Leson in sub-divison 3, which is the area around Canora.

Sub-division 4, which is the Yorkton area, has two nominees: Evan Simpson and Florence Stachura. In sub-division 5, the area of Saltcoats, Churchbridge and Langenburg, Lois Smandych was elected unopposed. The Melville area (sub-division 6) has a contest between Rebecca Perra and Bob Simpson, while in sub-division 7, the Esterhazy area, Jade Anderson was elected by acclamation. A second nominating day is needed to find a nominee for sub-division 8, which is The Key First Nation. Three seats are reserved for the City of Yorkton.