Garden of Saskatchewan Citizen Ring committee challenges participating municipalities to submit nomi

            Since 1980 a total of 31 Kamsack and District residents have been recipients of the Garden of Saskatchewan Citizen Ring and this year the ring’s trust fund committee is challenging each of the municipalities involved to submit a nomination.

The deadline for the 2016 award is May 31, said information from the trust fund committee.

article continues below

“Last year, our nomination committee selected its 31st recipient for the prestigious Garden of Saskatchewan Citizen Ring Award,” the information said. This award is reserved to recognize those individuals who have dedicated an outstanding contribution to their communities through public service in the community groups and local government.

“They are true philanthropists; leaders who have shaped our communities into what they are today.

            “Mayors, reeves, chiefs, council members, administration and staff; if there is that special someone who comes to mind as you read this description, then, we ask you, please, submit his or her nomination for consideration for this year’s award.”

            The deadline for nominations for this year’s award consideration is May 31. Nomination forms are available on the Town of Kamsack’s website under Local Heroes.

“As said by this awards’ founder and contributors, the late Stan and Betty Clark, “It’s time to honour those who have dedicated their lives to our communities.”

Individuals eligible for nomination must be residents of the RMs of Cote 271, St. Phillips 301 and Livingston 331; the eastern divisions of the RM of Sliding Hills 273, Keys 303 and Clayton 333; the towns of Kamsack and Norquay, and the villages of Togo, Pelly, Arran, and Veregin.

The following are the recipients of the Garden of Saskatchewan Citizens Ring Award: 1980, Art Barton, Roy Musqua, Fred Klaus, and Evangeline Fisher; 1981, Willis Richford; 1982, Carl Eggenschwiler; 1983, Percy Goodland; 1984, Mel Laimon; 1985, Harry Shukin; 1986, Stan Nimetz; 1987, Eva Wishnevetski; 1988, Alex Sherstabitoff, Jr.; 1989, Ed Fissel; 1990, Peter Kabatoff; 1991, John Vanin; 1992, Anita Klochko; 1993, Alex Leis; 1994, Peter Nagraeff; 1995, Alex Podwin; 1996, Lillian Hovorka; 1997, Mabel Buceuk; 1998, Frank Fisher; 2000, Steve Kinaschuk; 2008, Rev. John Moriarty; 2009, Audrey Horkoff; 2010, Helen MacFarlane; 2011, Charles Thomas; 2012, Adeline Nykolaishen; 2013, Amanda Burback; 2014, Casmir John Broda, and 2015, Ben Hudye.