Kamsack rink tops Kamsack annual mixed bonspiel

A Kamsack foursome beat out 21 rinks to take the top spot in the annual Kamsack Curling Club Mixed Bonspiel.

On March 27 to 30 the annual bonspiel had a total of 22 teams competing for a top prize payout of $320 at the Broda Sportsplex.

article continues below

The Don Bowes (skip) rink of Kamsack took top spot in the A event. Curling with Bowes were Kory Bowes (third), Deb Cottenie (second) and Robyn Tataryn (lead.) Second place in the A event was the Fred Perepiolkin (skip) rink, curling with Jennifer Koroluk (third), Randy Trofimenkoff (second) and Barb Trofimenkoff (lead.)

The B side was won by the Chris Leis (skip) rink, which included Bart Hunter (third), Chantel Ruf (second) and Miranda Reilkoff-Leis (lead.)

Second place in the B side was won by the Chris Bowes (skip) rink, with James Raabel (third),

Marla Hanson (second) and Alison Stefiuk (lead.)

First place in the C event was won by the Howard Bodnarik (skip) rink, curling with Keith Rauckman (third), Wendell Gnyp (second) and Raymond Galye (lead.)

The winners of second place in the C event was the Connor Bodnarek (skip) rink which included Kade Wishnevetski (third), Zach Chernoff (second) and Chloe Koroluk (lead.)

Each team was guaranteed three six-end games. The final event games were eight ends.

A banquet catered by the Iron Grill was held on March 30, and included Lasagna, salads, garlic toast and dessert bar.

The Kamsack Curling Club acknowledged the participating teams, prize sponsors, Andy Kazakoff (draw master) and Mark Foster (ice maker) for helping make the bonspiel a success.